PDA

View Full Version : Otay 2/14 - Tha Missed Run. Don't Ya hate that?

bluehunter
02-16-2009, 01:51 PM
Back out there this weekend with a buddy. We had one good run. Missed it. But have it on film. Pure comedy though yall. Check it out. Back there real soon though. This is what keeps us going. Thanks for viewing.

Brian.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pgm3UtGzah8

steve092
02-16-2009, 06:04 PM
Awwww... That sucks man!

But like it says at the end of the video, that's why you keep going back!

fishmounter
02-16-2009, 06:36 PM
You know I've seen how a large cat feeds in big public aquariums, and they pretty much just go up and mouth the chunk and swallow it. Why do you let them run so long? I'm no expert at all on big Blues, but I have caught my share of nice Channels and we fish with our bails closed and some slack in the line and when that line gets tight, we wind them in (Circle hooks). I would think that by letting them run for so long that you would end up with more gut hooked cats..? By the way I really enjoy your posts, vids, & pics.

bluehunter
02-16-2009, 07:43 PM
That is the same thing I told my buddy. I normally do the 10 second count and set the hook. But I believe that he was going by the philosophy of big bait and giving them more time to get it. I also believe that it gives more of an opportunity for a gut hooked fish but I just let some people do their thing as he has caught many big blues before so I guess its the system he feels comfortable with. The camera action may have also had something to do with it too actually showing the run on camera which was pretty cool. LOL. One thing that can put a lot of that to rest is the circle hook which is why I like to use them for time to times especially for the finicky biters.