PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, and want to say hello.

Tunaboss
02-11-2009, 09:53 AM
Hi guys, I just joined your forum, and I am looking to get some info on DVL. I have been fishing trout since I was a kid, mostly in the sierra's. I also enjoy deep sea fishing.

Last month I brought my boat home from Bullhead so that I can take my kids out fishing more often, my plan was to visit my local lakes, which would be Silverwood, Perris, DVL, Irvine, Corona, and this general area.

My first interest is DVL, since I have never been there.

I just started reading through your forum, and looks like alot for great information, and hope that I can be a contributor in the future.

For now, thought, I would like to know what is going on with DVL, their website says that I have to have a boat inspection, no problem, I think they are just looking at safety, and parasites. They also mention reservations.

So, as a newbie to the this lake, what should I expect, and what is the best way to actually get on the water. I don't have any plans to go there tomorrow, but would like to know what to expect so that when I do go, it is smooth and easy.

Also, any tips on how to fish this lake would be appreciated, I have 2 boys 13 and 8 years old, who love to fish with me, but lose interest if I can't put them on a fish every once in awhile.

My boat is 20 foot runabout, 350 motor, I also have a portable fishfinder.

Thanks guys,
Tunaboss

NoHo ART
02-11-2009, 10:02 AM
welcome to the board:Beer Toast:
i have never fished DVL but i know you can't take you privet boat out there, the water level is to low to lunch your boat.. you must rent....
you are better of taking the kids to a pay lake for a while until you get em hooked lol...
that's how i got my wife hooked on fishing again :LOL:
good luck

sweetfish
02-11-2009, 10:13 AM
Welcome to the madness.