PDA

View Full Version : To eat or not to eat?

EvilFett
02-10-2009, 03:59 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to posting here but i've lurked for a long time. I will post some reports later today.

My question refers to eating your catch :Big Grin: Do you guys consider it unethical to catch a big fat cat (or any other fish except LMB and carp)from lets say any city park or state lake and fry the sucka? After reading thousands of posts here it seems that way! I've been fishing for many years and love to eat my fresh catch. I've been renewing my license for over 15yrs and deserve to take my catch, right? Of coarse I only take my limit (which is hardly reached:ROFL:).

pasadenafishin
02-10-2009, 04:05 PM
I eat trout or catfish from the parks, never anything else

HBJapo
02-10-2009, 04:07 PM
It is not unethical, but perhaps very unhealthy, if it's from a city park lake. I do not eat the cats I catch from HB Central. Of course, I CnR everything but trout.

Japo :Envious:

smalweld
02-10-2009, 04:28 PM
You have to realise that the Cats and the Trout are stocked. They are put in there for us to catch and to take home and cook. The Bass are self sustaining and not stocked. If everyone who catches a bass and takes them home, then there will be no more bass in the city parks. Larger lakes probably less so of a possibility but with millions of people around and such small areas to fish, you can guess the outcome. Now however stripers... eat all you can catch :)

Sean

lurk 182
02-10-2009, 04:34 PM
could not have said it better. be nice to the bass cause they're not putting any new ones in there. all you want on anything that gets stocked plus stripers.

EvilFett
02-10-2009, 04:51 PM
I'm very nice to the bass! They are all released and ready to fight another day.

fish4keep
02-10-2009, 04:52 PM