PDA

View Full Version : How to Properly Cast a Bait Castng rod

Fishingmonkee
01-30-2009, 07:18 PM
Hi,

so i got the rod but how do i properly cast it. I only know how to cast spinning rod but im very new to bait casting rods. Do i hold down the unlock before i cast or do i throw and then hold down the unlock?

PhisHook
01-30-2009, 07:59 PM
Push unlock, place thumb on line, cast & release just before you would with a spinner, keep thumb close to line or just barley tuching for beginners and just before it hits the water stop the spool so as not to get a birds nest. Do not spool it full you will have better luck learning wirth fewer birds nests.

Practice in the backyard or the park with some weight on the line before just going for the gusto.

It took me about 2 hrs of casting in the yard to get it I found the side hand was the easiest overhead will get you better distance and the underhand I am still learning.

Good luck

Nate

PhisHook
01-30-2009, 08:15 PM
Oh yeah and welcome to the board!

a biley
01-30-2009, 08:26 PM
i still suck at it...

Fishingmonkee
01-30-2009, 08:35 PM
thanks for the advice, im planning to go to yorba park in orange tomorrow to practice. :] what kind of bait should i be using? from my previous thread, it was suggested 3/8 and 5/8 but what brand, type? thank you :]

tucunare
01-30-2009, 10:10 PM
I would recommend something that floats to start with, because when you get a bird's nest, you'll need some time to sort it out. With a floater, you don't have to worry about it maybe getting hung up on a snag after it sinks to the bottom while you take out the bird's nest... That's how I started anyway :Big Grin:

PhisHook
01-30-2009, 11:08 PM
I would recommend something that floats to start with, because when you get a bird's nest, you'll need some time to sort it out.

I wish I had thunktididd Of that one! I lost some good ($$) swimmers that way and some rat-l-traps too. Thats Good advice.

Rapalas are good I like them and they produce.

Ryan C