PDA

View Full Version : Fishing Channel Islands area this weekend

GARYC
01-08-2009, 09:43 AM
I plan on going on a boat trip this weekend. The fish counts are low. But, since I'm a rookie this year, I still want to go and find out for myself if it is worth the $65. Any advice on fishing Channel Islands/Ventura countyline in Jan.? Or the outlook for the next few months?
Thanks for any info.
Gary

Ricky-Ray
01-08-2009, 10:05 AM
Check and see if the landings are running boat's up there right now. Most of the landings in that area are not running boats right now cuz rockfish season is closed, and that's usually their main bread and butter for fishing. WSB and yellowtail would be later in the year.

If the boat's do go out you will most likely be fishing for bass and sculpins.

cappo
01-08-2009, 10:07 AM
Dang it Ricky Ray beat me to it.
Dont know what else is going on up there. Also keep an eye on the weather.

http://forecast.weather.gov/shmrn.php?mz=PZZ650

GARYC
01-08-2009, 10:29 AM
That is what they're catching, surface fishing for calico, WSB, Halfmoon, Sculpin and even says Hailbut. I know rockfish is closed. Some boats are still going out, went last Sat and this weekend. Last fish count was 14 anglers and the fish count was only 16 fish! I'm going anyways, I have not been skunked yet (but have came home with only 1 fish twice before this past summer.

exfactor
01-08-2009, 11:59 AM
Fish the surf perch instead. They are happening now.

Cangler
01-08-2009, 03:54 PM
I know Capt Hooks is suposed to be doing halibut trips , but im giving
my rods a rest until March .

Its a shame , the rockfish fishing is always so good out there ...

The WSB will be back early spring :)

GARYC
01-09-2009, 07:16 AM
I know Capt Hooks is suposed to be doing halibut trips , but im giving
my rods a rest until March .

Its a shame , the rockfish fishing is always so good out there ...

The WSB will be back early spring :)