PDA

View Full Version : Swimbaits

steve092
01-07-2009, 06:34 AM
I finally spent up some saving to buy a swimbait setup, now I just need some swimbaits!! I have a few large swimbaits, a Z-plug (I think that is what it is called), and a Storm swimbait. I do have some other smaller swimbaits, but what I want to know, is what kind should I buy? I'm mostly interested in the big baits like the BBZ. What do you guys recommend? And also, I have 20 lb line on my reel, should I up the line? Thanks in advance for any tips!

matt duarte
01-07-2009, 07:28 AM
swimbaits is where is it dude! BBZ floater and the slowsink are a must, the huddleston trout, ac minnow, LUNKER PUNKER, triple trout. And theres a lot of custom ones out there 2 last chance bait and tackle in hemet has a bunch of swimbaits the bpss doesnt even think of carring.. Check out my simbait thread in the tackle section.. I have a few im making as well

good luck dude

matt duarte
01-07-2009, 07:36 AM
oh ya i forgot... I use 30lb test... Ive seen bbz and hudds snap 25lb so i stick with 30.. Havent had a problem with it yet... What swimbait setup did you get?

steve092
01-07-2009, 03:03 PM
oh ya i forgot... I use 30lb test... Ive seen bbz and hudds snap 25lb so i stick with 30.. Havent had a problem with it yet... What swimbait setup did you get?

I bought some 20 lb floro coated line, so I'll have to throw some 30 lb when I can. Do you ever use braid?

I bought a Shimano Crucial 7'11" Extra Heavy Swimbait rod and the Cardiff 400.

steve092
01-07-2009, 03:09 PM
swimbaits is where is it dude! BBZ floater and the slowsink are a must, the huddleston trout, ac minnow, LUNKER PUNKER, triple trout. And theres a lot of custom ones out there 2 last chance bait and tackle in hemet has a bunch of swimbaits the bpss doesnt even think of carring.. Check out my simbait thread in the tackle section.. I have a few im making as well

good luck dude

I'll definitely pick up a BBZ Slow sink and probably a Hudd Trout.