PDA

View Full Version : 6' 240 lber Out Of Duct

yolo
01-01-2009, 09:53 AM
I was out at the duct this morning and after 15 minutes, nothing. I am down on the concrete close to the water and there is like 8" of slime exposed from the water level being down. I make another cast and I get my first minor bird's nest on the new set up. It took my attention away and as I was clearing it, I was probably moving around a bit and since I was down close, I managed to just barely step on the slime and in I went. I was able to stand right up and walk out slowly. I have been fishing the duct for 20+ years and have never fallen in. I am still surprised I went in but I got out easily and quickly. Well that is my first new years swim in any water and of course my first duct dunking. Water was not too bad. Luckily there was no wind as I was about 3/4 mile walk from my truck and it would have been cold in the wind.

My left ankle is hurting and sore. That's the foot that slipped first and probably twisted it. My right elbow is scraped from landing on it and my back when going in. My left knee is scraped from when I did the duct twist :LOL: and turned around to walk up and out.

Happy New Year all!!! I started it out right with a duct swim :ROFL:

DEADROOTS
01-01-2009, 10:05 AM
Man be careful. People die easily doing that.

MarkyMark
01-01-2009, 10:08 AM
Hey, at least you lived to tell the story..Be Thankful

Mondo21
01-01-2009, 10:09 AM
That's too bad.A New Year's dunk! Hopefully your luck will go uphill from this day foward.:ROFL: Happy New Year:Beer Toast: Cindy

newbefisher
01-01-2009, 10:27 AM
Well at least you got your first skunk out of the way. Hopefully it will be limit stripers from here on out. :Fishing Catch: Luckily the water wasn't flowing. :Shocked:

trail blazer
01-01-2009, 11:01 AM
That sucks!!!!!!
least everything came out ok.

really easy to do at the duct if you get to far down on the side

snag
01-01-2009, 11:25 AM