PDA

View Full Version : Are lobsters caught locally safe to eat?

fisheromen
12-08-2008, 08:08 PM
Hey guys,
I never go hoopin but have long admired the yummy lobsters you guys bring up. Anyways, on behalf of a friend who is pregnant, has young boys, and a husband who catches lobsters in the local breakwater, are these lobsters safe to eat? She has been eating quite a bit as well as her younger boys... I always hear how you're not supposed to eat too much fish caught off our local surf / pier due to elevated mercury levels and other toxins...and these lobsters are bottom dwellers and are scavengers...Is there an amount not recommended for pregnant women and young children?

You thoughts / insight would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
fisheromen

~larissa
12-08-2008, 08:16 PM
cappo's brought home a few and i still haven't seen him glow... so i think you're safe :LOL:

mg2969
12-08-2008, 08:49 PM
Wow what a great question, I never really thought about it.
I'm not an expert , just my thoughts

Mercury:
Well since their not pelagics I don't think mercury is a problem
I check'd out
http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~frf/sea-mehg.html (http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/%7Efrf/sea-mehg.html)

High mercury fish , such as shark and swordfish, has like 7-10x more mercury than lobster.

Other toxins:
White croaker is banned from consumption at least as far as I know in Long Beach and San Pedro.
Primarily because of the diet of worms which contains concentrated levels of toxins

Although lobsters do eat worms (probably as juvies), it only makes up a part of their diet.

A lot of SoCal's water is polluted to an extent,
checking out California State Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment at
http://oehha.ca.gov/fish/general/99fish_part2.html

Recommends a few fish caught inside 1 meal per 2 weeks.
Thats probably not bad advice for lobsters either.

Just my 2 cents

kwest10
12-08-2008, 11:53 PM