PDA

View Full Version : Halibut Fishing?

gman444
11-18-2008, 07:19 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a complete noob at halibut fishing from the surf. I have caught about everything else in the surf but i have never targeted Halibut. I was just wondering how i should get started, what are the best lures, and where to look for them? I live in El Porto CA if that changes anything. Sorry for the complete noob question but since you guys kick butt at this i thought maybe you could help?

surfnfish
11-18-2008, 07:29 PM
Haha I'm not that good at it but I'll spare you the trouble. D/S flukes, and of course the oh so amazing Lucky Craft Flash Minnow 110 Preferablly in Metallic Sardine. I'm that there aren't too may people on this sight who'd disagree with that. BTW you'd probably do better with this post in the general message board.

BIGRED KILLA
11-18-2008, 08:30 PM
Where is Wingnut and every fisherman needs a trusty croc in there box all it is is shiney like all the baitfish in the water.

Bigred

GeordyBass
11-18-2008, 08:34 PM
halibut are fun to kill!!!!

Use the luckycraft 110 metallic sardine like they said here...or use rapalas with dots painted on the sides,,,ghetto!!!lol...Gulp! sandworms/sand crabs dropshotted/carolina rigged would work too...

ghetto dad
11-18-2008, 09:31 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a complete noob at halibut fishing from the surf. I have caught about everything else in the surf but i have never targeted Halibut. I was just wondering how i should get started, what are the best lures, and where to look for them? I live in El Porto CA if that changes anything. Sorry for the complete noob question but since you guys kick butt at this i thought maybe you could help?

Im just starting out myself, I have started to Drop Shot for them....i use 8 lb test, a 7 foot rod rated 6-12, anywhere from 1/2-3/4 ounce DS weight or reg bell weight, a 5 inch Zoom fluke on a #1/0 Owner Worm hook, or a 3-4 inch Fluke with a #1 or #2 mosquito hook.....