PDA

View Full Version : Surf Fishing "Fish Trap Lures " Question

DEADROOTS
10-15-2008, 06:50 PM
What are the best colors in the surf here in the so. cal areas? Which colors have been producing? So far Ive tried green flash and these two other colors. Are there any lures which are more productive than these?

BingJr
10-15-2008, 06:57 PM
I am no surf expert but from my readings, it appears a fish trap in a Lucky Craft box and shape in the metallic sardine color is tough to beat.

Zombie Bass ATTACK
10-15-2008, 06:58 PM
swimbaits are alright but i prefer hardbaits,drop shot,flukes etc...produce more in my mind

rusty6
10-15-2008, 10:07 PM
ive seen that top color produce a lot in the surf...a lot of leos surprisingly on some other forums.

Rooster
10-15-2008, 10:28 PM
I have had goodluck with kilime,halloween & brown bait. If your fishing for spotties in NPH try anything with red flakes in it. You will thank me later :Razz:

lurk 182
10-15-2008, 11:06 PM
those colors will work. i like big hammers and MC Swimbaits a little better and i basically am going for a smelt look. (green back/silver sides)

bonestock
10-16-2008, 12:12 PM
BH keylime

cappo
10-16-2008, 12:19 PM
i've always had luck with bay smelt

baluga
10-16-2008, 01:42 PM
For halibut go with Chartuese or Keylime pattern on clear to stained water it's tough to beat.
For Calico go with Calico hunter pattern by BH on clear to stained water.

Darker pattern like seawolf from BH on cloady to murky water.

DEADROOTS
10-16-2008, 04:03 PM
Is smelt the so.cal. preferred bait fish species for the average game species?

jerryG
10-17-2008, 12:39 AM
swimbaits are alright but i prefer hardbaits,drop shot,flukes etc...produce more in my mind

I agree with Zombie. Don't get me wrong I've been a huge fan of the swimbait since the days when Worm king was the only game in town (198*) but the hard baits, dropshot, and crocks have produced far better results from shore (surf/jetties).

JerryG

Sinjin Kim
10-17-2008, 02:06 AM