PDA

View Full Version : quality yet well-priced offshore fishing gear?

EuN_TeK
09-10-2008, 03:35 PM
i have just picked up an interest in offshore saltwater fishing and was wondering what some quality yet not too expensive rod/reel combos would be. considering the fact that i am a poor medical student, i won't be able to dish out $1000 per setup, but would like something that is versatile as in able to catch fish ranging from calico bass to yft... any advice/help would be highly appreciated. thank you.

Ricky-Ray
09-10-2008, 03:54 PM
When I started fishing my first setup was a Penn 535GS and a 8ft California Rod from Turners. Whole thing was less than 200 bucks. Fast forward 5 years later and I still have both the rod and reel. It has served me well. Reel does not get much use these day's as I've upgraded to other reels that are better but the rod still get's used pretty often.

Check some of the tackle shops sometimes they will have combo setups usually something like either a Penn 500 or a 535 along with a 7ft Penn Sabre rod for usually around 100-150. Decent starter outfit will handle just about any fish off the souther california waters. Check out the used section at tackle shops too. I've found some REALLY great deals on used rods and reels. Even a yard sale can be a goldmine, which I've done on an occassion or two.

EuN_TeK
09-10-2008, 04:09 PM
thank you so much for the tips.
i've been actually browsing the member classifieds and found a couple of interesting items.
there is a shimano trevala model# TVC66MH rod for $60 and a daiwa saltist model# STT30h for $90. would this be a decent starter combo or would you advise against it?

Ricky-Ray
09-10-2008, 04:13 PM
Saltist are good reels, several of my friends have them and love them. I've never used them personally. Doesn't mean that it's not a good reel, but there are so many out there that you can't buy every single one of them (unless you win the lottery...LOL)