PDA

View Full Version : Furniture Polish on Reels?...

MikeAce00
09-01-2008, 11:55 PM
Bill Dance said so... or Maybe it was fishing edge...

Has anyone else heard that instead of rinsing your reels off with fresh water after a day in the salt, you should spray it with furniture polish which displaces the saltwater and keeps the reel oiled?

I'm kinda worried about line damage and unpleasant scents may affect fishing...

What are your thoughts on this?

Sinjin Kim
09-01-2008, 11:57 PM
I've been sticking with freshwater (mist spray) for 20+ years now and have yet to see any negative effects.

Troutman65
09-02-2008, 12:01 AM
Sounds trippy . Never heard of this before.

Nessie Hunter
09-02-2008, 07:14 AM
????????

Lot of nasty stuff in any cleaner/wax for furniture, including scents and carriers not intended for metals..

Clean fresh water......
All you need to do is *dissolve and dilute* any salt deposits or build up. All reels can take fresh water wash downs or even a dip or soak....
Try and get inside the spool edges, and as much inside as possible while working the handle, to get the job done..
Wont hurt to tighten the drags when you do it, and leave them tight until it dries out all the way.. Keeps any water from being soaked up and softening the washers.... But any 'decent quality' reel will have waterproof drag washers....

mstr fish
09-02-2008, 08:56 AM
I use freshwater only. Never had a problem.........................fish

City Dad
09-02-2008, 12:07 PM
I've tried many things to prevent corrosion from salt water. Among the least successful; Italian dressing, shaving cream, ground lamb, bleach, my own tears and more salt water.

Among the best; Tap water, filtered tap water, champaign.

Robert trout hunter
09-02-2008, 09:57 PM
I've tried many things to prevent corrosion from salt water. Among the least successful; Italian dressing, shaving cream, ground lamb, bleach, my own tears and more salt water.

Among the best; Tap water, filtered tap water, champaign.