PDA

View Full Version : Total Newb To So Cal Salt Water Needs Advise

Poxy Boggards
07-23-2008, 12:42 PM
Hey All,

Looking for some advise on good salt water locations in or close to Orange county. I've done quite a bit of salt water fishing up in Northern California, but have only done fresh down here.

I'm looking for a place where I can catch some MACs or Bonitos. Any suggestions on rigs/equipment/time of day will all be appreciated.

If anyone wants to show me the ropes, shoot me a PM. I am thinking about heading out tomorrow if I can get the day off, or Sunday.

Thanks in advance for the help! Tight Lines!

Wes
Poxy Boggards

calico killer kevin
07-23-2008, 12:56 PM
Most if not all the piers around this time have macks and they are super easy to catch, but since you live in the OC I would recommend Newport, Balboa, Huntington, and Seal Beach Piers. All you have to do is buy a sabiki rig and jig away.
http://www.charkbait.com/cs/csbait1.htm
This is the link to my favorite sabiki rigs. If you scroll down, you will find Owner "Fish Catchers". I like the little squid looking ones. Trust me, don't cheap out and buy the crappy little cheap ones that have no flashers. Since you're going soon, you can find these at most Walmart and local tackle shops. If the bite gets kinda tough, just add little strips of squid to the hooks, but I wouldn't mess with squid unless I had to. The bottom of the sabikis will have a swivel and then a snap so you could easily attach a weight to the bottom such as this. Remember the weights need to have an eye just like the ones in the picture.
http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_16668_100010003_100000000_100010000_100-10-3
The hooks on a sabiki are really sharp so watch out for them.

Good Luck,

Calico Killer Kevin

Fisherman57
07-23-2008, 01:32 PM
Hey Wes!

Im thinking you're in search of "catfish bait" ..... but if ya ever wanna hit the surf..... lemme know!

Poxy Boggards
07-23-2008, 01:54 PM
Hey Wes!