PDA

View Full Version : late report 7/9 Victory

MR. J
07-13-2008, 08:17 PM
i've been reading posts on this site for years and never bothered to post. I never got to go fishing often because of school so i never posted. I graduated last month and plan on going out every week from now on if my schedule permits.

anyways, the fishing:

I couldn't post earlier, because i took a mini vacation shortly after arriving home after this fishing trip.

my first trip of the summer and of 2008 was aboard the Victory out of Pierpoint. I was originally going to go out of the Native Sun out of Berth 55 and arrived there at 5:30am. It was about 5:40am and I was putting on my boots and about to unload my stuff when i see about 8 or so guys all come back to their cars and i asked one guy what happened. what he told me was that the landing said that there were not enough guys to go out so they canceled the trip. so i thought that I could make the Victory. i sped on over to pierpoint and made it there at 5:50am. I was able to buy a ticket but had to buy a token to park under the bridge. i ran back to my car and sped on over. I made it to the boat at 6:00am and we were off around 6:10. I'm pretty sure that all of us that were at Berth 55 sped on over to Pierpoint.

anyways, now really to the fishing
there was about 44 of us on the boat today, mike was the captain, carl on deck, and ron in the galley. around sevenish, we picked up bait. i was prepping my stuff and all of a sudden i heard someone yell gaff!!. some guy was apparently playing with a blam and something struck it hard. when it was finally at the suface, it was a nice 24lb halibut. according the the guy it wasn't putting up much fight. felt like pullling a dead weight. BTW, we picked up anchovies and nice size sardines.