PDA

View Full Version : Surf Q???

familyguy15
07-10-2008, 05:13 PM
Fairly new to this surf fishing. What type of Kroc spoon is adequate and how do you fish it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Fisherman57
07-10-2008, 06:01 PM
I've had some very good success fishing Kroc's in the surf and Im still learning about them each and every time I go out.... they are a GREAT lure for the surf........ but keep in mind a few of these things...

Make sure you always attach and fish them with a high quality swivel. I believe most of them now come with a swivel attached.

I like using a simple chrome (nickle) Kroc on bright sunny days, which is what we usually have here in So. Cal...... but I find myself using the green and or the blue "mackeral" patterns most of the time and have had good success with those two specific color patterns.

The most important thing to remember when choosing a pattern for the surf is to match the food source of the area you are fishing in as close as you possibly can.

Try NOT to work the spoon in a simple straight line and at one constant speed when you retrieve your lure. Instead...... twitch your rod tip every few seconds..... and speed up and then slow down your retrieve, variance is key.

Don't be afraid to stop your lure dead in the water and then start it up again...... reel fast for a few seconds and then slow down. The more variety of speed and action you give to the lure, the more strikes you're gonna get!

Use as light of line as possible...... if you find that fish are following your Kroc, but just wont strike, that may be a sign that your line is too visable and that you need to switch to a smaller diameter line.

When I cast a spoon I start reeling as soon as the lure reaches the bottom (line goes slack)...