PDA

View Full Version : No more afterhour dock fishing in Newport Harbor

ToadsToadsOnly
06-26-2008, 03:52 PM
Fished Newport harbor public docks the other day got was fishing after hours and got rolled on by Harbor Patrol. Great usually they just tell us to leave but not this time they parked on the side of the dock, checked our fishing license, asked for all our ID’s, and asked us if we were on probation or have been arrested. They ran our records and started to write some things down on a notepad. Great I’ve been fishing that dock for 8-10 years and never got a ticket after hours. I started talking to the Harbor Patrol and told him I’ve talked to the sheriffs on the Peninsula before and they told us multiple times they really do not enforce the after hour’s policy unless you are loud, disturb the neighbors, drink on the dock, or trash the dock. He said he did not enforce it either.

He explained to me that the new chief of police in the department is a boater not a FISHERMAN and has been enforcing the law strictly. He been walking down the dock and writing tickets for everything not having fishing license worn above the waist, cutting bait on the dock, not moving when fishing so the boaters could dock, littering, and most of all fishing after hours. He also told me if you are doing anything wrong he will write you up. He also told me the Chief will be back in a month so the nighttime fishing off the dock days is over guys.

doyoufishmuch
06-26-2008, 04:49 PM