PDA

View Full Version : City of Long Beach 04/28/08

brianw
04-29-2008, 10:33 AM
Hi all.. been reading this forum for couple of months .. here is my first fishing report ..

decided to go fishing @ 9:40 .. call around to see if theres any boat going out today, Marina said they had a boat going out at 10, so i packed my stuff in 10 minutes and rushed there

im new in ocean sportfishing.. so i didnt really know what to expect and what to do, the deckhand helped me to setup and explained what to do .. they were very nice and polite, realli helpful too

i caught about 7 Sculpins, 3 shorts..
5 grouper , got to keep one, gave them to others
2 sanddeb , one jonny bass??? not sure what that is .. but the captain called it that ..

Really nice weather indeed, wind claim , nice and warm, would definitely go with city of long beach again, since i only live about 5mins away ..

mm.. i have one question.. how much should i tip the deckhand normally?
i gave them $5 yesterday, is that ok?

here comes the pics

http://i25.tinypic.com/2w6e42o.jpg

http://i28.tinypic.com/33df2ax.jpg

http://i32.tinypic.com/2qki1zl.jpg

http://i25.tinypic.com/t8kkn4.jpg

http://i31.tinypic.com/345ngih.jpg

http://i26.tinypic.com/2ljkoja.jpg

excuse for my crappy english =)

jplee3
04-29-2008, 10:52 AM
Nice job! Nice fish! General rule of thumb for tipping is 15% of the price you paid to get on the boat. Of course, depending on if the crew worked hard and if the captain worked hard to put you on fish you can tip accordingly. I'd say, if the crew/capt worked hard and you didn't catch much, I'd still tip them pretty well. $5 seems a little low - you should also consider tipping the cook in the galley.

pyronut
04-29-2008, 10:54 AM
Hey there,

Great job out there. Sound like you picked a great day to get some of the great fish taco meat. What you tipped them is ok for a 1/2 day boat.

Pyronut

Ricky-Ray
04-29-2008, 11:18 AM