PDA

View Full Version : Fishing NPH...HELP?!?

FisherManDingo
04-20-2008, 10:15 PM
Hey all, as you can see, I am new to this message board. I've been reading the posts that most of you write and find them very informative. I myself fish whenever I can, but I would like to change that. I am not the best fisherman out there, but also want to change that. I need help people... I went to the wedge at NPH yesterday with a few buddies and got skunked! We were on the west jetty (the one on the right if you were going out on a boat to sea). My buddies were using squid and shrimp and I was using a saltwater gulp camo sandworm on a number 6 hook, then switched it up to a saltwater gulp 3in squid. NOTHIN!!! I then went to the surf and threw on another sandworm and went at it. I fanned the whole surf. I must have casted for 30 minutes and nothing. I know that not catching fish is part of fishing, but I WANT TO CATCH FISH!!! I want to be a fisherman! I want fish blood to run through my veins!!! (ok, maybe not) I live closer to LB and Seal Beach, or even HB. Any suggestions? Please Help! Anyone want to fish?!? I had another question. I've gone on fishing charters and believe it or not, never caught anything, only because I was spending more time chumming the water with the contents of my stomach than actually fishing. Any suggestions or remedies to prevent motion, or seasickness?

Jikser
04-20-2008, 10:57 PM
Dramamine or Bonine on an empty stomach. As far as fishing goes....keep at it and read up...it's an acquired skill. If you happen to see a fellow angler...talk to him/her. I notice they much rather teach or give advice in person.

Wingnut
04-20-2008, 11:02 PM
My cure for sea sickness is called "Surf Fishing". :lol:
There's no quick way to become a good fisherman. Read up, put your time in and just get out there as much as you can. You will learn something new every time you hit the water. ;) :D

Good luck to you & welcome to FNN. :cool:

crystalmath79
04-20-2008, 11:03 PM