PDA

View Full Version : Dum question, but have to ask!

wd91guy
04-10-2008, 05:16 PM
Im a newbie boater, love fishing, sometimes wish i bought a cruiser rather than my ski boat. Have a 23ft V drive, Deep V hull, Centurion Typhoon Wakeboard boat, and want to know the following.

1. is it Catalina/Avalon capable? (Gas 36 gallon capacity, Scorpion 330)
2. Can i fish off of it?
3. Would YOU fish off of it?
4. Anything you can add? (thats not mean! hahaha)

Albert

Nessie Hunter
04-10-2008, 05:53 PM
No reason why it cant do Catalina.... 23' should be OK...

Make sure all your safety equip is up to date and a GPS & Marine radio are a must for offshore trips.. Never know...

Make sure you know what kind of mileage you get 36 gal doesnt go far....

Does it look like this????

Fish Dog
04-10-2008, 07:34 PM
What Nessie said. In addition, I'd worry about freeboard if its one of those that sits close to the water, could be a problem if it gets rough. (I'm not familiar with that kind of boat so I don't know how much freeboard it has) Also, you might want to get a Vessel Assist membership. A tow back from Catalina would cost like $500 - $600 or so (at least) if you don't have it. Other then that, you'd be good to go.

GeordyBass
04-10-2008, 08:44 PM
dang those cost $35k huh?If it has a V8 then im guessing it gets more or less 13gph???? if it does maybe you can make it...always look out for rough seas.;)

megafisher94
04-10-2008, 08:51 PM
if its a boat you can and will fish it!!!:twisted:

fishncatalina
04-10-2008, 10:18 PM
Just bring extra fuel with you.

It's about $5 a gallon here on the island.

Tail Chaser
04-10-2008, 11:50 PM
If it floats. You can fish off it :)
36 gal tank, May only pull about 30 gals before running out. I would say a good safe range at 1 1/2 mpg is 45Miles?

Make the crossing, Top your tank at Avalon.
Hope your boat doesn't sit to low to the water.
May want to take her for a inshore fishing trip first.
See how she handles a little whitecap.