PDA

View Full Version : Where do you go for LOW tide?

City Dad
03-18-2008, 12:16 PM
As a surf newbie, I've had my best luck around high tide.

I'm wondering if there are certain types of areas which fish well at low tide?

I'm not looking for specific spots to poach, I'm just curious as to what types of places you've had success in at low tide.

Appreciate any help.

Oz
03-18-2008, 12:20 PM
i dont think there any specific spots man..u just have to try different areas and go for it..try by jetties or any rock piling...or by the sides of piers.

JSAUCE818
03-18-2008, 04:27 PM
straight back to the car....and straight home.....

fuj
03-18-2008, 04:45 PM
I've had some great Corbina trips during extreme low tides. During the summer months, Corbina stage in shoreline holes waiting for the tide to rise a bit so they can surf in and suck up sand crabs.

LiveweLLunker
03-18-2008, 05:10 PM
I love surf fishing during low tide so here are a few things that I like to do.
I always like to find areas that are harder to get to during high tide, drop offs that are too far to cast to. During low tide a lot of fish push up on the edges of these drop offs and wait for the tides to push food towards them. Look for darker water to find steep drops then cast to the edges. Thats where I usually start fishing when the tide begins to change.
At the peak of low tide, when the water is at its lowest, I look for rock outcroppings. I like to fish where I can see the water swirling around the rocks. I lose quite a few lures but I've caught a bunch of fish doing this. Thats the trade off.
Lastly, something that I like to do about an hour after the tide switches back towards the incoming high tide is go back to the dropoffs I fished when I started and try to throw back to the edges. I really dont know why but I tend to catch the biggest fish of the day when I come back to these dropoffs.

Good Luck fishing, hope this helps.

P.S.