PDA

View Full Version : Saltwater Regulations that get ya

HESBROS
02-22-2008, 01:46 PM
Wanted to start a thread regarding Saltwater Regulations that are often over looked and maybe help save some of the newer saltwater fisher people some citations. I am not a pro, but I have read the regulations, and I have also seen some posts regarding citations for regfs that folks did not even know existed. If this is not going to be a bennefit, then just scrap it. Like I said, I am no saint, but I have learned that there are reg that exist that I did not know existed until I read about or knew someone that has been cited.

Eddie & Rich
"Hesbros"

HESBROS
02-22-2008, 01:55 PM
Here I will start, this seems to be a common area that some overlook. There are specific requirements such as length of fillets and skin patches for some species when it come to filleting fish on the water. Be sure to check out the section regarding California Halibut.

27.65. Filleting of Fish on Vessels.
(a) Definition of Fillet: For the purpose of this section a fill et is the flesh from one side
of a fish extending from the head to the tail which has been removed from the body (head,
tail and backbone) in a single continuous piece.
(b) Fish That May be Filleted: No person shall fillet on any boat or bring ashore as fillets
any fish, except in accordance with the following requirements:
(1) Kelp bass, sand bass, spotted bass, and ocean whitefish: All fillets shall be a
minimum of six and one-half inches in length. Each fillet shall bear intact a one-inch square
patch of skin.
(2) Barracuda: Fillets must be a minimum of 17 inches in length. Each fillet shall bear
intact a one-inch square patch of silver skin.
(3) Lingcod. Lingcod fillets must be a minimum of 16 inches in length. Each fillet shall
bear intact a one-inch square patch of skin. The minimum size and minimum fillet size for
lingcod may be changed during the year or in-season by the department under the authority