PDA

View Full Version : Any ideas for Striper Fishing this weekend?

asiskaaa
02-14-2008, 11:35 PM
Hey,

I am pretty new in fishing and appreciate suggestions about good lakes for stripers or trout in this season.

I plan to go out for three days from Saturday till Monday. I am in Mountain view area and have a boat. Currently looking into these lakes:

- Comanche Reservior
- New Hogan Reservoir
- New melones lake
- Don Petro Lake
- Lake Berryessa
- San Luis Lake
- O'Nellie Forbay (close to San Luis) lake
- Lake Antonio

Got confused by too many lake names after checking google map, don't know which one would be the best. :-)

Thanks!

Bill

wrondogg
02-15-2008, 03:55 PM
San Luis Resevoir is probably one of the best Striper lakes north of Santa Barbara. I'm not sure if its any good right now though. I do know it gets extremely windy there in the late morning through the early evening. Try topwater and swimbaits in the morning but in the day and night probably going to have to fish deep with sardines or live bait if you can get it.

Lake San Antonio is good but not until the water temp gets up to 60. I was there last Saturday and it was 55 so we got about 6-8 weeks still.

Not too sure about striper at the other lakes you mentioned.

Hope this helps a little.

FISHINGBEE
04-25-2008, 12:42 PM
Hey,

I am pretty new in fishing and appreciate suggestions about good lakes for stripers or trout in this season.

I plan to go out for three days from Saturday till Monday. I am in Mountain view area and have a boat. Currently looking into these lakes:

- Comanche Reservior
- New Hogan Reservoir
- New melones lake
- Don Petro Lake
- Lake Berryessa
- San Luis Lake
- O'Nellie Forbay (close to San Luis) lake
- Lake Antonio

Got confused by too many lake names after checking google map, don't know which one would be the best. :-)

Thanks!