PDA

View Full Version : boat mechanic needed

pappi
02-12-2008, 03:42 PM
hello, im new to fnn. i was hoping someone could help me out with a decent/honest mechanic. somewhere in the san berdoo county. preferably in hesperia area.

the starter engages but the motor will not turn over, i took a spark plug out to decompress a little nothing. i cannot turn belt or prop by hand. the crank is stuck as far as i know anyways help a mechanic would be very appricated

1997 180le chapperal; boat model

DyleeBrand
02-13-2008, 12:22 PM
Sounds like you got serious stuff going on there Papilon....Don t think a mobile mechanic can do much..
I m just assumming you got the 3.0 4 cylinder, or 4.3 v6....either way, try this cheap, not always work, method first..
Take all the spark plugs out, squirt a lot of WD-40 or Marvel oil in the cylinders, let it soak overnight....and go get a lot of incents and pray to all the Gods, Buddhas, Angles, Evils....even Allah.....the starter can break loose those stuck rings, due to corrosion inside the cylinders..And see if you can turn it over by a big socket and ratchet at the crankshaft..
Even if you re lucky the thing started spinning, more praying to come though...
Put the plugs back, in the right firing order ofcourse, prime the carb....Don t look down the carb when cranking, the backfire might should flame up and make you a hairless fisherman....
And if the sucker start?...Run a few minutes see if it overheat, if it does?...A leaking head gasket s most common. You ll see a lot of blue smoke due to oil passing the collapsed rings, not to worry.
When you go out on it?..Don t go too far yet, gotta try a couple of hours running time to see if the rings reseal itself..

Anyway, i gotta feeling the motor s frozen from internal rust....Good luck..

Tail Chaser
02-13-2008, 05:02 PM
If your only hearing a click from the starter. Your battery voltage may be low. Battery terminals clean? Cables to the starter clean and tight?
Hows the oil look?