PDA

View Full Version : bass+bugs 1-30 sd bay

Captwoody
02-01-2008, 11:12 AM
bass/bugs SD Bay 1-30 , we fished gulp last hour of light for one sand bass on a slack tide. moved over to zuniga with 3 eclipse nets for my first attemp at lobstering. dropped in 20 ft of water on the bay side waited 30 mins for a crab, redropped waited another 30 caught crabs,2 shorts and some fish, redropped 4 more times for the same results moved to so side of jetty caught one bareley legal and a buch of shorts called it a night at 11pm for 15 shorts 30 crabs 2 sting rays 15 rockfish and on the poles we did battle with a large ray a skate and a sand bass between sets. good learning experience for my first time lobstering. How do I store the extra rope when it is a 100 ft rope and i am setting in 20 ft of water, do you coil and tie it off or is there another trick. and yes I know I need more traps I am just getting started-WOODY

chris
02-01-2008, 02:16 PM
i use the cheap plastic electrical cord organizers and zip ties. i'll try to take a picture for you. youi can get them at home depot wal mart wal greens.

Captwoody
02-01-2008, 02:24 PM
Thanks for the pointers ZIP ties and storing the rope above the float seem to be the general rule from the other boards. lobstering is a lot more fun than i thought it would be-woody :banana:

chris
02-01-2008, 02:33 PM
yes it is I always have a good time . here's th pic of how i run them
http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n229/chris419/100_0432.jpg

I tie the float off seperate so the cord the wrapped rope is like 12" under water it makes a good handle to grab
it's also easy to pre mark depths on your rope. have fun and be safe

Captwoody
02-01-2008, 02:40 PM
thanks for the picture it makes sense now-woody

HESBROS
02-01-2008, 05:28 PM
Woody, we cut our ropes into 50ft lengths, so there is less line to bundle, if we are going to hoop deeper than 50, we just add on the other 50.

Captwoody
02-01-2008, 07:31 PM