PDA

View Full Version : IMA DUMBASS!!!!

Greg Madrigal
01-08-2008, 08:32 AM
Went out last week and picked up fuel outta the HH fuel dock. I forgot to replace my gascap! :bang: :bang: :bang:
I have a 2007 Yami 115 4-stroke. It has a water seperator in-line. The fuel tank is aluminum, 26 gal, and a somewhat V-shape.

Mind u, the gas cap is located in the stern area where I am sure at least some water invaded my fuel system.

My questions are:
How can I know if I have saltwater in the tank?

What should I do if I think there is water in there?

Know any good shops in North OC that deal in this issue?

What could happen If I just left it to "see what happens?"

Can that ruin the tank or the engine?

GM

fleaflicker
01-08-2008, 09:44 AM
I am no expert, but i say Don't run it! Why take a chance? Take it to a gas station and have it drained. Check/change the cartridge in your fuel filter. If the motor ran ok the last time out I would imagine that the motor fuel system is ok. You just want to get it out of your tank and fuel lines asap. Hopefully it's not a full tank and you won't have to get rid of 26 gallons. ouch Good luck.

Dude47
01-08-2008, 02:05 PM
Not worth the risk, drain the tank, you should then beable to look at the fuel and see if it has water in it(the water floats over the fuel). A little water shouldent hurt anything, they actually used to make some kits for cars that mixed small amounts of water witht he fuel because the water would vaporize whent he piston fired and it would create more horsepower.

Troutman65
01-08-2008, 02:10 PM
Greg, That sucks !!!! :(

You got to slow down and not be in such a hurry to get out fishing. :wink:

Hope its not bad.

TM65

Rick Grover
01-08-2008, 05:08 PM