PDA

View Full Version : what to do????

reelinIT
12-06-2007, 09:53 PM
i have a 1973 bass master 17' fiberglass boat i has no lids on all the bait wells or or back hatch what is the best and cheapest way to fix that

fishntoss
12-09-2007, 07:27 AM
You could try some marine grade plywood and some piano hinges. Even if you brush on some resin or something else to seal the plywood better.. you're gonna replace em sooner or later, but it would be a quick fix. Remember, you are probably goin to add carpet to the wood so don't get it too thick.
another idea, although it might not be too cheap is to find a fabricator the deals with aluminum and see if they cant make up some hatches for ya...would last longer... but probably pricey.
Check some of the boat donation places. if they have a boat thats really useless.. they'll let you take parts...depends on the place though..

Cap'n Ron
12-10-2007, 01:03 PM
You could try some marine grade plywood and some piano hinges. Even if you brush on some resin or something else to seal the plywood better.. you're gonna replace em sooner or later, but it would be a quick fix. Remember, you are probably goin to add carpet to the wood so don't get it too thick.
another idea, although it might not be too cheap is to find a fabricator the deals with aluminum and see if they cant make up some hatches for ya...would last longer... but probably pricey.
Check some of the boat donation places. if they have a boat thats really useless.. they'll let you take parts...depends on the place though..

Yep,
fishntoss is right on with the marine grade plywood and piano hinges.
Marine grade carpet.
Can of sealer
spray can of adhesive
Circular saw
ss screws
screwgun
12pck
measuring tape

Baitwell lids in under a 12pck

Measure those well's two or three times before the 1st beer.
Have a beer.
Measure them well's once more for good measure.
Have a beer.
Cut your plywood.
Have a beer.
Seal the plywood (should have ben done two days ago but didn't have any beer)